Objectives of ISO 9000

Objectives of ISO 9000ISO is known as International Organization for Standardization. It is an international federation of the national standards bodies of over Ninety countries. Its function is to promote common standards and to define ‘harmonize’ product, service, and business practices throughout the world.

The ISO 9000 group of standards is about quality management systems and created to help organizations make sure that they meet the requirements of clients and other stakeholders.

Five Objectives of ISO 9000

  1.  Gives businesses with useful, globally recognized models for operating a quality management system.
  2. Achieve, maintain and aim to regularly enhance product quality (the standards define “product” as the output of any process. Therefore, this word will also apply to “services,” whether internal or external to the business).
  3. Primary objective of getting these standards is to boost the goodwill of organization. Customer can compare the quality of two companies , one is with ISO standard and other is without ISO standard . Goodwill could be in form of rise in sale or more promotion of product of company.
  4. To create a compliance standard which is followed 24 hours-a-day, 7 days-a week, 52 weeks-a-year.
  5. Offer confidence to internal management as well as other workers that requirements for quality are being fulfilled and maintained, and that quality improvement is taking place.

ISO is the planet’s biggest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO 9000 standards expect companies to have a quality manual which fits ISO guidelines, documents, quality procedures and job instructions, and verification of conformity by third-party auditors. ISO 9000 series has five international standards on quality managements. They are:

  • ISO 9000 – Quality management and Quality assurance standards
  • ISO 9001 – Defines minimum quality system requirements for design/development, production, installation and servicing.
  • ISO 9002 – Production and Installation
  • ISO 9003 – Applies to final inspection and test
  • ISO 9004 – Quality management and systems

Watch a video on ISO 9000 quality systems and Total Quality Management

ISO does not certify organizations itself. Third party certification bodies offer independent confirmation that businesses fulfill the requirements of ISO 9000. More than a million organizations worldwide are independently certified, making it probably the most commonly used management tools in the world today. The worldwide adoption of ISO 9001 could be due to a variety of elements. A number of main customers require their suppliers to have ISO 9001 certification. Along with several stakeholders’ benefits, a variety of reports have recognized substantial financial benefits for organizations certified to ISO 9001. It provide confidence to customers and stakeholders that requirements for quality are being, or will be, accomplished in the delivered product.

An ISO certificate isn’t a once-and-for-all award, but should be renewed at frequent intervals suggested by the certification body, generally once every 3 years. The ISO 9000 standard is regularly being modified by standing technical committees and advisory groups, who get feedback from those experts who are applying the standard.


  1. shweta jagannath salvi says

    its has been huge usefull to many projects as well as for our basement knowledge.

Speak Your Mind